Browse refreshes

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
omni
Posts: 554
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:34 am

Browse refreshes

#1 Post by omni »

Roger,

Trying to make my browses work a little better for certain types of user screens. The browses all display info from a data file with add/update/delete buttons.
Fairly simple.
When they update a record in the middle of the browse and return, the top record is still at the top and the record that was updated still has focus.
When they delete a record we handle it two different ways. One is to go back to the top record..no problem on that for small number of records.
The other option is to go to the prior record for focus and refresh the browse...for a higher number of records
The difference is that this is now the top record on the browse unless they scroll up to see the prior records. i would like to have it display just like the update on those
I am refreshing the getlist and also adding>> oBrowse:refreshCurrent() and oBrowse:forceStable(). That does not help the way it actually looks.
I know I can skip down one by one to get to the record..that works, but if there are 50 data items that is really ugly as it scrolls down with code
goto(holdrec)
oBrowse:refreshCurrent()
oBrowse:forceStable()
dc_getrefresh(getlist)

Any thoughts on something else I can try. Not a big deal, but it would be nice...

Thanks

Fred
Omni

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Browse refreshes

#2 Post by rdonnay »

If you can give me a small sample program that I can compile and run, I will make the necessary mods.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
Auge_Ohr
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: Browse refreshes

#3 Post by Auge_Ohr »

omni wrote:I am refreshing the getlist and also adding>> oBrowse:refreshCurrent() and oBrowse:forceStable(). That does not help the way it actually looks.

goto(holdrec)
oBrowse:refreshCurrent()
oBrowse:forceStable()
dc_getrefresh(getlist)
what about RefreshALL() ...
greetings by OHR
Jimmy

Post Reply