The problem with MEMO

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Message
Author
Victorio
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:43 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: The problem with MEMO

#21 Post by Victorio »

Hi,

What content is in "Memo" field ? Is there text in cyrillic ?, or umlauts (hmm in russian do not remember if has some, )

this may have nothing to do with the problem which I had severeal months when want convert CSV file from tasklist to array. I had this problem on france installation of Windows 10, where some special france umlauts/accents caused incorretly read fields from CSV to array. I must ignore first row in CSV and put own row of CSV structure to solution.

Also once I had problem with test type of fields type M , Memo in DBF file created in Foxpro, some function worked in Foxpro but in Alaska Xbase no. Here I read info about two type of Memo M4 a M10 , this is new info for me.

User avatar
Eugene Lutsenko
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:23 am
Location: Russia, Southern federal district, city of Krasnodar
Contact:

Re: The problem with MEMO

#22 Post by Eugene Lutsenko »

Victorio wrote:Hi,

What content is in "Memo" field ? Is there text in cyrillic ?, or umlauts (hmm in russian do not remember if has some, )

this may have nothing to do with the problem which I had severeal months when want convert CSV file from tasklist to array. I had this problem on france installation of Windows 10, where some special france umlauts/accents caused incorretly read fields from CSV to array. I must ignore first row in CSV and put own row of CSV structure to solution.

Also once I had problem with test type of fields type M , Memo in DBF file created in Foxpro, some function worked in Foxpro but in Alaska Xbase no. Here I read info about two type of Memo M4 a M10 , this is new info for me.
I have in a memo-field the usual text consisting only of symbols of parentheses, a comma and figures: (),0123456789. That's all. There are no breaks between ends of lines, ends of paragraphs, etc. Just by the length of this text, the usual text boxes do not always fit. An example is here at the bottom of the images: http://aidos.byethost6.com/ClustClass/page_01.htm

User avatar
Eugene Lutsenko
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:23 am
Location: Russia, Southern federal district, city of Krasnodar
Contact:

Re: The problem with MEMO

#23 Post by Eugene Lutsenko »

I have a suspicion that with "C" works but "M" does not work due to the fact that "M" work wrong sort (indexed arrays) and filter. It is possible that logical sorting (indexing) when"M" violates the correctness of the correspondence between the order of records in dbf and dbt

Piotr D
Posts: 131
Joined: Mon Jul 28, 2014 1:26 am
Location: Poznań, Poland

Re: The problem with MEMO

#24 Post by Piotr D »

Hello Eugen,
in DbeSys.PRG what type of COMPONENT_ORDER you use?
Try this:
IF ! DbeLoad( "FOXDBE", .T.)
Alert( "Motor bazy danych FOXDBE nie został załadowany" , {"OK"} )
ENDIF

IF ! DbeLoad( "CDXDBE",.T.)
Alert( "Motor bazy danych CDXDBE nie został załadowany" , {"OK"} )
ENDIF

IF ! DbeBuild( "FOXCDX", "FOXDBE", "CDXDBE" )
Alert( "FOXCDX - motor bazy danych nie został utworzony" , {"OK"} )
ENDIF
DbeInfo(COMPONENT_ORDER,CDXDBE_MODE,CDXDBE_COMIX)

Without this, typically, the mode is like in Visual FoxPro, where Collation table is in CDX file, and this make problem with sorting (indexing) when database is non-english standard.

Piotr

User avatar
Eugene Lutsenko
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:23 am
Location: Russia, Southern federal district, city of Krasnodar
Contact:

Re: The problem with MEMO

#25 Post by Eugene Lutsenko »

Thanks, Peter!

Definitely try. I was thinking about whether it was in CDX. I had another option: just make a text file out of lines with links to them by line numbers from the main file from the field that is now used from the text. But now the regime is working well (on limited dimensions of data) and I'll get back to it when you re-mount any other urgent cases

http://aidos.byethost6.com/ClustClass/page_01.htm

bwolfsohn
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:07 am
Location: Alachua, Florida USA
Contact:

Re: The problem with MEMO

#26 Post by bwolfsohn »

Eugene,

did you say you had an index on this field when it was a "C" ? if so, then that might be the problem... I don't think you can have a straight index on a Memo field
Brian Wolfsohn
Retired and traveling around the country to music festivals in my RV.
OOPS.. Corona Virus, so NOT traveling right now...
http://www.breadmanrises.com
FB travel group: The Breadman Rises

User avatar
Auge_Ohr
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: The problem with MEMO

#27 Post by Auge_Ohr »

you can make an Index on Type "M" but ist must be same Lengh

Code: Select all

INDEX ON SUBSTR(Field->Memo + SPACE(xxx),1,xxx) TO myIndex
Note xxx :
DBFNTX max. 512 bytes
CDXDBE is limited to 240 bytes but when have Collation Table you can use only 120 byte
If collation is ASCII or CDXDBE_MODE is FOXPRO2X, no transformation occurs and the key-value size is restricted to 240 characters.
---

@Eugene : i understand that you change Structure Field Type from "C" to "M"
next you create a new DBF but this is empty so where do your data come from ?

the Picture on page 1 show {} so it is a Array ... but you write it as String into DBF ?
to use it did you convert String back to Array ?

if YES : store Array as binary into Field Type "V" !
greetings by OHR
Jimmy

User avatar
Eugene Lutsenko
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:23 am
Location: Russia, Southern federal district, city of Krasnodar
Contact:

Re: The problem with MEMO

#28 Post by Eugene Lutsenko »

Why-it is a memo field it works correctly, but the text all right:

Code: Select all

IF AT(ALLTRIM(aClust1[cl]), ALLTRIM(NAMECLS_FU)) > 0                            // Почему-то с мемо-полем это не работает ####################

User avatar
Auge_Ohr
Posts: 1428
Joined: Wed Feb 24, 2010 3:44 pm

Re: The problem with MEMO

#29 Post by Auge_Ohr »

Eugene Lutsenko wrote:Why-it is a memo field it works correctly, but the text all right:

Code: Select all

IF AT(ALLTRIM(aClust1[cl]), ALLTRIM(NAMECLS_FU)) > 0                            // Почему-то с мемо-полем это не работает ####################
it seems that nobody can confirm what you have so there must be something you have not tell us until now.
if it is a Array you can store hole Array as i say but than you must use Type "V" and re-work your Code.

Tip : make a small Demo and look it if still happens
greetings by OHR
Jimmy

User avatar
Eugene Lutsenko
Posts: 1649
Joined: Sat Feb 04, 2012 2:23 am
Location: Russia, Southern federal district, city of Krasnodar
Contact:

Re: The problem with MEMO

#30 Post by Eugene Lutsenko »

The system Eidos can be downloaded here:
http://lc.kubagro.ru/aidos/_Aidos-X.htm

It is downloaded from the source code. But separately it is possible to download here:
http://lc.kubagro.ru/_AIDOS-X.txt

The text is the one I compile. The only thing I will not publish license codes for libraries Boris

Look for the function: FUNCTION F4_2_2_3()

There the elements of the array is just an object to search for (text). Search is carried out in the memo field

Post Reply