Tooltip on browse header only

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Post Reply
Message
Author
bwolfsohn
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:07 am
Location: Alachua, Florida USA
Contact:

Tooltip on browse header only

#1 Post by bwolfsohn »

Roger, etal,

Is it possible to expand the text in a browse header on a mouseover ???

datatooltip seems like overkill and seems to get in the way of the UI when navigating through the browse...
Brian Wolfsohn
Retired and traveling around the country to music festivals in my RV.
OOPS.. Corona Virus, so NOT traveling right now...
http://www.breadmanrises.com
FB travel group: The Breadman Rises

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Tooltip on browse header only

#2 Post by rdonnay »

It should be possible.

I'll try to write a sample.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Tooltip on browse header only

#3 Post by rdonnay »

Try this:

Code: Select all

#INCLUDE "dcdialog.CH"

FUNCTION Main()

LOCAL GetList[0], aDir, oBrowse

aDir := Directory()

@ 0,0 DCBROWSE oBrowse DATA aDir FONT '12.Arial' HEADLINES 2 SIZE 40,20

DCBROWSECOL ELEMENT 1 HEADER 'This is;My Header' WIDTH 20 PARENT oBrowse ;
   EVAL {|o|o:heading:enter := {|a,b,o|o:setFontCompoundName('14.Arial Bold')}, ;
            o:heading:leave := {|a,b,o|o:setFontCompoundName('12.Arial')}}

DCREAD GUI FIT TITLE 'Header Font Test'

RETURN nil

PROC appsys ; RETURN
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

bwolfsohn
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:07 am
Location: Alachua, Florida USA
Contact:

Re: Tooltip on browse header only

#4 Post by bwolfsohn »

Roger,

What i'm looking at needs more than a change in font...

for example,

i have a browse column that is a y/n, but the header says "title received".. the column width is very narrow, as the data is only a single letter..

In effect, i need a tooltip or something like it that will pop-up the full description when the header is moused over.

the datatooltip is very intrusive when working inside the browse...
Brian Wolfsohn
Retired and traveling around the country to music festivals in my RV.
OOPS.. Corona Virus, so NOT traveling right now...
http://www.breadmanrises.com
FB travel group: The Breadman Rises

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: Tooltip on browse header only

#5 Post by rdonnay »

Did you try the TOOLTIP clause of DCBROWSECOL?

Code: Select all

#INCLUDE "dcdialog.CH"

FUNCTION Main()

LOCAL GetList[0], aDir, oBrowse, GetOptions

aDir := Directory()

@ 0,0 DCBROWSE oBrowse DATA aDir FONT '12.Arial' HEADLINES 2 SIZE 40,20

DCBROWSECOL ELEMENT 1 HEADER 'This is;My Header' WIDTH 20 PARENT oBrowse ;
   TOOLTIP 'This is my header. I am a tooltip that shows over the header' ;

DCGETOPTIONS TOOLTIPFONT '12.Lucida Console'

DCREAD GUI FIT TITLE 'Header Font Test' OPTIONS GetOptions

RETURN nil

PROC appsys ; RETURN
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

bwolfsohn
Posts: 649
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 7:07 am
Location: Alachua, Florida USA
Contact:

Re: Tooltip on browse header only

#6 Post by bwolfsohn »

Actually, yes, i did try it.. it worked with plain text, but then i couldn't get it to work with variables, so i went down the datatooltip dead-end.. :doh: :doh:

I've done a bunch of revisions since then, and segregated the header into a function call.

When i tried that function call in the tooltip it worked...

sorry for the stupid user interruption.. :)

See you in september... (there's a song in there somewhere)
Brian Wolfsohn
Retired and traveling around the country to music festivals in my RV.
OOPS.. Corona Virus, so NOT traveling right now...
http://www.breadmanrises.com
FB travel group: The Breadman Rises

Post Reply