dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

This forum is for eXpress++ general support.
Message
Author
Cliff Wiernik
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:11 pm
Location: Steven Point, Wisconsin USA
Contact:

dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#1 Post by Cliff Wiernik »

As shown in the attached image, as shown in Xdot, using this line of code

dc_msgbox(,,{'Not found'},'Warning')

the caption is cutoff. I think the checking routines for the size of the message box dialog should also make certain that it is wide enough to avoid chopping the caption off.
dc_msgbox.jpg
dc_msgbox.jpg (67.56 KiB) Viewed 13490 times

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#2 Post by rdonnay »

I have known about this problem for awhile but haven't yet found a solution because the width of the title bar can't be easily determined. I'll try to find time to fix this.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Victorio
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:43 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#3 Post by Victorio »

this can be temporary solution :
dc_msgbox(,,{padc('Not found',30," ")},'Warning')
Attachments
msgbox.gif
msgbox.gif (5.92 KiB) Viewed 13463 times

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#4 Post by rdonnay »

this can be temporary solution :
dc_msgbox(,,{padc('Not found',30," ")},'Warning')
You are right.
This is what I have suggested for several years.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Cliff Wiernik
Posts: 605
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 9:11 pm
Location: Steven Point, Wisconsin USA
Contact:

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#5 Post by Cliff Wiernik »

I can handle that. I wrap a function into dc_msgbox anyways.

Cliff

User avatar
Tom
Posts: 1234
Joined: Thu Jan 28, 2010 12:59 am
Location: Berlin, Germany

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#6 Post by Tom »

Besides, DC_MsgBox() does not reflect SCALEFACTOR if set with DC_GetOptDefault(), so it stays as the only dialog not scaled.
Best regards,
Tom

"Did I offend you?"
"No."
"Okay, give me a second chance."

Victorio
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:43 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#7 Post by Victorio »

I found other problem with dc_msgbox in new release 264. In 260 was messages modify with DCSAY Pad(aMessage..., in new version 264 without Pad.
Old version centered messages in center , because I cannot allign it to left side .
But new version need set buttonsize, because I must modify every call this function.

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#8 Post by rdonnay »

DC_MsgBox() does not reflect SCALEFACTOR if set with DC_GetOptDefault().
That is correct.
Are you saying that you want it to change with the SCALEFACTOR?

I would have to add a new Get-Set function to enable that capability.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

User avatar
rdonnay
Site Admin
Posts: 4813
Joined: Wed Jan 27, 2010 6:58 pm
Location: Boise, Idaho USA
Contact:

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#9 Post by rdonnay »

But new version need set buttonsize, because I must modify every call this function.
Give me a sample of how you are calling DCMSGBOX and how you are modifying the call.
I don't understand.
The eXpress train is coming - and it has more cars.

Victorio
Posts: 633
Joined: Sun Jan 18, 2015 11:43 am
Location: Slovakia

Re: dc_msgbox Caption Cutoff

#10 Post by Victorio »

excuse me, I must prepare sample. here is only part from it.
I mean, in old version was buttons other size, than in 264, in 260 was centered in new was align to left and smaller. So, it can be my mistake, than have not set every important parameters.

FUNCTION asktlac

* pre pokusne tlacitko v nahlade
*pre pokus s toolbarom aj browser ak tu to nedám, potom preberá Getoptions z inej funkcie
Local GetList := {}
Local GetOptions, oToolbar2,oHladaj

* polia pre funkcie vyhľadania podľa kľúčov a code bloky
Local aHladkluce,aHladFunkcie

PARAMETERS ntspar,nazovsuboru,defvolba
PUBLIC ntsp

ntsp=padr(ntspar,12)

defvolba=defvolba
if defvolba<1 .or. defvolba>3
menuask=1
else
menuask=defvolba
endif

DCMSGBOX "Vytlačenie súboru : [ "+ntsp+" ]"+nazovsuboru ;
TITLE "Dialóg" ;
FONT fontnt ;
BUTTONS {"Na obrazovku a do súboru prn", ;
"Do súboru prn - blokované ", ;
"Na obrazovku a tlačiareň ", ;
"Na obrazovku a do súboru PDF" ;
} ;
CHOICE @menuask ;


fontnt is font name

Post Reply