Page 1 of 1

Alaska and postpresql

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 9:08 am
by omni
Roger,

I noticed on the Alaska link for their meeting this fall that they are having sessions on postpresql, which I know nothing about, but it states that you can use this with dbf file with virtually no changes to your programs. Do you have an experience with this?

thanks,

Fred
Omni

Re: Alaska and postpresql

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 10:35 am
by rdonnay
Fred -

I think you may have misunderstood.
PostGreSql is an industrial strength SQL database engine that is free and it's data format is not ISAM, such as supported by DBF. What Alaska has developed is a superior interface to this powerful database that allows for embedded SQL commands and ISAM-style commands like dbSkip(), dbGoTo(), etc. The database structure, however, is not DBF. Alaska is providing a conversion utility that migrates your exisiting data into the PostGreSql databases. This also means that you should not need to convert any of your existing code to get the power and performance of PostGreSql.

Roger

Re: Alaska and postpresql

Posted: Mon Jun 18, 2012 12:41 pm
by Auge_Ohr
hi,
omni wrote:Do you have an experience with this?
this is Phase 3 of Arctica called MIGration
Image
we got it in Devcon Build and it should include in next CTP.

it does have a "upsize" Tool ( why ?) and a new pgDBE work with PostgreSQL v8.3
you can use MDIDEMO with pgDBE just with some line of new Code ( like enhance DBESYS )

Code: Select all

   DbeLoad( "PGDBE" )
   DbeSetDefault( "PGDBE" )

   cConnStr := "DBE=pgdbe;SERVER=localhost;DB=mdidemo;uid=postgres;pw=geheim"
   oSession := PGSession():New( cConnStr )

   if( .not. oSession:isConnected())
      Msgbox("connection fail")
      QUIT
   endif
now you can use it as "normal" DBE without change your Code ( you have to check all your "VIA" )

but this is only the beginning. PostgreSQL v9.1 does have new Features like FDW (FOREIGN DATA WRAPPER) http://wiki.postgresql.org/wiki/Foreign_data_wrappers

there are a lot FDWs for all kind of SQL Backend "ready-to-use" so you can access them all with your Xbase++ Application ... if pgDBE will support it ...

so wait for next CTP Release (hope soon) and have a look what MIGration to pgDBE meen.