Page 1 of 1
Error Message
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 6:59 am
by omni
Any idea what causes this. Happens fairly often, just when a user opens a menu option.
May be from a remote access user with ownerdraw menu's, but not sure that is related to the error. Never has happened here.
(We have an option to not use the Ownerdraw when remotely connected)
oError:args :
oError:description : Parameter has a wrong data type
oError:filename :
oError:genCode : 2
oError:operation :
CALLSTACK:
Called from DC_XBPGET:SETDATA(781)
Called from (B)DC_XBPGET:INIT(269)
Called from DC_GETLIST:EVENTLOOP(4388)
Called from DC_GETLIST:READGUI(3647)
Called from DC_READGUI(103)
Fred
Omni
Re: Error Message
Posted: Mon Mar 26, 2012 12:43 pm
by Tom
A DCGET (DC_XbpSLE) is going to be initialized, maybe as a part of DCSAY ... GET. In special, Roger populates the "killInputFocus"-slot at that point. There's a simple "o:SetData()" in there, which means, the value referenced by the "datalink"-block of the XbpSLE is read into the editbuffer when the DCGET loses input focus. This has nothing to do with ownerdrawing or menus. The callstack ("Called from, called from") you showed is ways too short - at least, there must be a line referenced pointing to something creating a DCGET (in your code!). This line contains the error. Seems that you pointed to an array, an object, a macro, a codeblock or a not initialized var in that line. You maybe (miss)used the "datalink" clause of DCGET. However, there's no error in line 269 of _DCXBPGT.PRG, which is the PRG file containing the code you pointed to. Try to find the code of your app which points to the error line and show it.
Re: Error Message
Posted: Tue Mar 27, 2012 8:00 am
by rdonnay
This is very strange.
You would get a DC_XbpGet error if you did not properly initialize the variable to a N, C, L, M or D type but the error would display differently in eXpress++ because it gets trapped and displayed in a different type of window. Do you know which GET is causing the error?
Re: Error Message
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:03 pm
by omni
According to the client's tech person, this error is occurring after a user changes companies and opens a menu option, can be most any menu option. Error on the dcread.
When a user changes companies, the main menu dlg is destroyed and the menu is 'refreshed' with a new default folder, as the menu may change due to settings for that company. This client has a half dozen companies and the users that have problems change all during the day, but the error only comes up once in a while, but enough to tick them off.
The tech person suggested adding a 'delay' of some sort to see if that would help. Not sure if that is relevant or not. All users are connected via remote access, over 50, but only a selected few change companies all day long.
Any thoughts?
Fred
Re: Error Message
Posted: Wed Mar 28, 2012 1:34 pm
by rdonnay
Ok, I think I know what is happening.
If you have a GET into a database field, and then you close the database and reopen a different one (even with the same alias), Xbase++ loses the pointer to the old field and generates an error when evaluating the datalink with the :getData() method.
You cannot do that.
You should probably be using a scatter/gather array for your gets instead of a get directly into a database field.
A simpler method would be to close the window and recreate it after opening a new database.
Re: Error Message
Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 8:41 am
by omni
Roger,
When they select to 'change companies' no menu options are open, no windows are open and no files are open. If they are the windows and databases are closed as part of the menu reset.
Its as if (or supposed to be) the user closed the app completely and logged back in, but without the time it takes to do that, with loading of all the dll files,etc.
We never get using a database field. We always use variables.
These users do it all day long, say hourly, but the error may only occur one time. Maybe when the network is busier??
Hope that helps explain it better.
Fred
Re: Error Message
Posted: Wed Apr 04, 2012 9:27 am
by rdonnay
You say that you are getting an error on the DCREAD. What is the error?
Re: Error Message
Posted: Fri Apr 06, 2012 7:09 am
by omni
Its the error on the original post