Page 1 of 1
Tooltip on browse header only
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 10:04 am
by bwolfsohn
Roger, etal,
Is it possible to expand the text in a browse header on a mouseover ???
datatooltip seems like overkill and seems to get in the way of the UI when navigating through the browse...
Re: Tooltip on browse header only
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:15 pm
by rdonnay
It should be possible.
I'll try to write a sample.
Re: Tooltip on browse header only
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:41 pm
by rdonnay
Try this:
Code: Select all
#INCLUDE "dcdialog.CH"
FUNCTION Main()
LOCAL GetList[0], aDir, oBrowse
aDir := Directory()
@ 0,0 DCBROWSE oBrowse DATA aDir FONT '12.Arial' HEADLINES 2 SIZE 40,20
DCBROWSECOL ELEMENT 1 HEADER 'This is;My Header' WIDTH 20 PARENT oBrowse ;
EVAL {|o|o:heading:enter := {|a,b,o|o:setFontCompoundName('14.Arial Bold')}, ;
o:heading:leave := {|a,b,o|o:setFontCompoundName('12.Arial')}}
DCREAD GUI FIT TITLE 'Header Font Test'
RETURN nil
PROC appsys ; RETURN
Re: Tooltip on browse header only
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 12:58 pm
by bwolfsohn
Roger,
What i'm looking at needs more than a change in font...
for example,
i have a browse column that is a y/n, but the header says "title received".. the column width is very narrow, as the data is only a single letter..
In effect, i need a tooltip or something like it that will pop-up the full description when the header is moused over.
the datatooltip is very intrusive when working inside the browse...
Re: Tooltip on browse header only
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:21 pm
by rdonnay
Did you try the TOOLTIP clause of DCBROWSECOL?
Code: Select all
#INCLUDE "dcdialog.CH"
FUNCTION Main()
LOCAL GetList[0], aDir, oBrowse, GetOptions
aDir := Directory()
@ 0,0 DCBROWSE oBrowse DATA aDir FONT '12.Arial' HEADLINES 2 SIZE 40,20
DCBROWSECOL ELEMENT 1 HEADER 'This is;My Header' WIDTH 20 PARENT oBrowse ;
TOOLTIP 'This is my header. I am a tooltip that shows over the header' ;
DCGETOPTIONS TOOLTIPFONT '12.Lucida Console'
DCREAD GUI FIT TITLE 'Header Font Test' OPTIONS GetOptions
RETURN nil
PROC appsys ; RETURN
Re: Tooltip on browse header only
Posted: Wed Jul 19, 2017 1:32 pm
by bwolfsohn
Actually, yes, i did try it.. it worked with plain text, but then i couldn't get it to work with variables, so i went down the datatooltip dead-end..
I've done a bunch of revisions since then, and segregated the header into a function call.
When i tried that function call in the tooltip it worked...
sorry for the stupid user interruption..
See you in september... (there's a song in there somewhere)